Please, Americans, if you do nothing else today, then please take action against EARN-IT.

We discussed it on the show, but it would destroy online privacy, crypto, etc. This is no joke. Please, take action TODAY as it goes up for a vote July 2nd.

If you love Free Software or Privacy, this bill has to die!

I see a lot of people boosting this message.

You should know that it passed the Senate Judiciary Committee. IT MUST BE STOPPED NOW IN REGULAR COMMITTEE. THERE IS NO TIME TO WASTE!

Show thread

@Shufei Extremely likely. I'd say 70-80% chance of yes.

@emacsen Passing into law? You don’t reckon the Dems will shut it down in the house?

@Shufei Call your House Representative TODAY. Get your friends and family to do the same.

@emacsen Done. It’s pretty thin meat. I meant, what is left to do when it goes through?

@emacsen I'd seen news of Sen. Hirono take AG Barr to task, so when I called her office, I added to my spiel, "No one in their right mind would give Attorney General Barr more authority over how the Internet works."

@emacsen Everyone was so hyper focused on COVID and the BLM riots that this fell under the radar.

@emacsen I did it! I called!! I had no idea it was going to be voted on tomorrow (July 2). I had even written a letter and was preparing to send it but I don't think it wouldn't have gotten there in time. Thanks again!

@emacsen it looks like EARN-IT had quite a bit stripped out of it.


They rewrote it large parts of it, but didn't radically change the powers of the bill as I understand it, and the threats all remain, but in new forms.

@emacsen now we just need the cryptoshit the split to a separate bill to fail :blobcatsleepless:
@emacsen Free Software must die so the communist tranny propaganda will end :backfromgab:


@emacsen Here’s a list of judiciary committee members:

Senator Amy Klobuchar D-MN
Senator Ben Sasse R-NE
Senator Christopher A. Coons D-DE
Senator Chuck Grassley R-IA
Senator Cory Booker D-NJ
Senator Dick Durbin D-IL
Senator John Cornyn R-TX
Senator John Kennedy R-LA
Senator Joni Ernst R-IA
Senator Joshua D. Hawley R-MO
Senator Kamala Harris D-CA
Senator Marsha Blackburn R-TN
Senator Mazie Hirono D-HI
Senator Michael S. Lee R-UT
Senator Mike Crapo R-ID
Senator Patrick Leahy D-VT
Senator Richard Blumenthal D-CT
Senator Sheldon Whitehouse D-RI
Senator Ted Cruz R-TX
Senator Thom Tillis R-NC
Senator Lindsey Graham R-SC
Senator Dianne Feinstein D-CA

@dustin Thanks. As I mentioned, though, it's past that point. Now it's in the general senate.

Sign in to participate in the conversation

The social network of the future: No ads, no corporate surveillance, ethical design, and decentralization! Own your data with Mastodon!